Welcome Laxmi Devi Home Today

Laxmi Devi, the consort of Lord Vishnu, is worshipped by millions of devotees around the world for prosperity, fortune and fertility. Devotees believe that She would protect them from financial problems and misery. She embodies charm, grace and beauty. Goddess Laxmi Devi is depicted in illustrations with four arms. The arms represent Moksha, Artha, Kama and Dharma. The Goddess is also known as Thirumagal or Shri as She is bestowed with six divine and auspicious qualities or Gunas and is the source of strength to Lord Vishnu. Sita, Radha and Rukmini are the different incarnations of Laxmi Devi. Laxmi Devi is worshipped in eight divine forms, namely Adi Lakshmi, Dhana Lakshmi, Dhanya Lakshmi, Gaja Lakshmi, Santana Lakshmi, Veera Lakshmi, Vijaya Lakshmi and Aishwarya Lakshmi.

The name Laxmi is derived from the Sanskrit root words “Lakysa”, which means “goal, objective and aim”, and “Laks” that means “to observe or perceive”. She is glorified in the Vedas as Lakshyayidhi Lakshmihi, the one who uplifts mankind. Devotees celebrate Sharad Purnima and Diwali in honor of the Goddess. Friday is considered to be the most auspicious day for worshipping Maa Laxmi.

Appropriate Way to Worship Goddess Lakshmi:

Devotees please Laxmi Devi by keeping the house clean and peaceful, respecting elders and women, and being honest at work. Devotees worship Her along with Sriman Narayana with a sincere heart for both material and spiritual growth. Fresh flowers, incense, sandalwood, kumkum and fruits are offered to the deity or picture of Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Vishnu.

Order Prasad from Mahalaxmi Temples (Mumbai and Kolhapur) at http://www.onlinetemple.com/products/mahalaxmi-temple-mumbai and http://www.onlinetemple.com/products/mahalaxmi-temple and receive blessings of Goddess Laxmi.

« Prev | Next »

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.