Panchamukhi Hanuman

Panchamukhi Hanuman is the Virata Rupa (gigantic form) of Lord Hanuman. The word “Pancha” means five and “mukhi” means faces; hence, Lord Hanuman in this form has five faces. As per ancient Hindu texts, there are two incarnations of Panchamukhi Hanuman. In one incarnation, all the five faces are of Lord Hanuman. In the other incarnation, only one face is of Lord Hanuman and the other four faces are that of Garuda, Varaha, Narasimha and Hayagriva. Therefore, Panchamukhi Hanuman is considered to be the combined incarnation of Lord Vishnu and Lord Hanuman.


It is believed that during the great war between Lord Ram and Ravana, the demon king took assistance of his brother - Mahiravana, the king of the netherworlds and a devotee of Mahamaya. Mahiravana trapped both Lord Ram and Lakshman in Patala Lok and kept confusing them with his sorcery. Lord Hanuman fought a pitched battle with Mahiravana and finally realized that He had to extinguish 5 lamps simultaneously to kill the Asura. Hence, Lord Hanuman took up the form of Panchamukhi Hanuman to extinguish all the lamps at once.

Significance of Panchamukhi Hanuman

The east facing Hanuman bestows success and a pure mind. The south facing Narasimha mukha bestows courage and ensures victory. The west facing Garuda mukha eliminates poisonous atmosphere and effects of black magic. The North facing Varaha mukha bestows wealth and the Hayagriva mukha bestows knowledge.

Sloka to Seek Blessings of Panchamukhi Hanuman

Panchasyachutamaneka vichitra veeryam |

Sri shanka chakra ramaniya bhujagra desam ||

Peethambaram makara kundala noopurangam |

Dhyayethitam kapivaram hruthi bhvayami ||

Order Prasad from the world famous Hanuman Temple, Delhi at and receive divine blessings.


« Prev | Next »

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.