Magha Navaratri

There are four Navaratris in the traditional Hindu calendar. The four Navaratris are the Chaitra Navaratri festival, which is celebrated in the month of March, Sharadiya Navaratri festival, which is celebrated in the month of October, Magha Navaratri, which occurs during January-February, and Ashad Navaratri, which occurs during June-July.

In 2015, Magha Navaratri begins today i.e. 21st Jan. 2015. This festival, which is also known as Gupt Navaratri, is dedicated to the nine incarnations of the mother Goddess or Shakti. The festival is mainly celebrated in the Northern Indian states of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana and Punjab. The following pujas are conducted during the Magha Navaratri.

Day 1: Shailputri Puja.

Day 2: Brahmacharini Puja.

Day 3: Chandraghanta Puja and Kushmanda Puja.

Day 4: Skandamata Puja.

Day 5: Katyayani Puja.

Day 6: Kalaratri Puja.

Day 7: Durga Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja and Sandhi Puja.

Day 8: Siddhidatri Puja.

Day 9: Navratri Parana.

The following mantras are chanted during Magha Navaratri to invoke blessings of the divine Mother.

Durge Smrita Harasi Bhitimshesh Jantoh Swasthaih Smritamati Mateev Shubhaam Dadasi Daridray Duhkh Bhayaharini ka Twadanya Sarvopakarkaranay Sadadrachitta – mantra for obtaining wealth.

Sarv Mangala Mangalye Shive Sarvarth Sadhike Sharanye Trayambke Gouri Narayani Namostute – mantra for general welfare.

Sarvaswarupe Sarveshe Sarvashakti Samanvite Bhaye Bhyastrahi No Devi! Durge Devi Namostute – mantra to overcome fear.

Sharanagat Deenart Paritranaparayane Sarvsyartihare Devi, Narayani Namostute – mantra to overcome problems.

Order Prasad from the world famous Kalighat Temple at and receive divine blessings.

« Prev | Next »

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.